Short Reads

Implementation of new AML Directive and new list of high-risk countries

Implementation of new AML Directive and new list of high-risk countri

Implementation of new AML Directive and new list of high-risk countries

07.05.2020 NL law

After discussions in the Dutch Parliament leading to a late implementation of the amendment of the fourth anti-money laundering and anti-terrorism financing directive, the Dutch implementation will most likely be in force before 18 May 2020. In addition, the European Commission today amended its list of high-risk countries.

Implementation of the new Directive

In addition to several measures with respect to the customer due diligence (e.g., relating to enhanced customer due diligence) and better exchange of information between regulatory authorities, the major new aspect is the addition of certain crypto service providers within the scope of Dutch AML laws.

Wallet providers and crypto exchanges will now become subject to Dutch AML laws and must perform customer due diligence. Additionally, they will be required to register with the Dutch Central Bank (DNB).

On 4 May 2020, DNB published a news letter that the crypto service providers should register with DNB before 18 May 2020. DNB also set out that the Dutch Ministry of Finance aims that the implementing Act enters into force before 18 May 2020.

For more information on specific Dutch plans in relation to AML laws and regulations, we refer to our newsletter of 9 December 2019.

New list of high-risk countries

On 7 May 2020, the European Commission amended its list containing high-risk third countries with strategic deficiencies in their regime regarding anti-money laundering. The updated list will be submitted to the European Parliament and Council for approval in the form of a Delegated Regulation. The European Commission stated that the Regulation will apply as of 1 October 2020, so that all stakeholders have time to prepare. The delisting of countries will only enter into force 20 days after publication in the Official Journal of the EU. It is unclear when this delisting will be published in the Official Journal.

The current list of high-risk countries is as follows: Afghanistan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Guyana, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), Iran, Iraq, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Syria, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Ethiopia, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia and Pakistan

The countries that will be delisted are: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Ethiopia, Guyana, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Sri Lanka and Tunisia

The countries will be added are: The Bahamas, Barbados, Botswana, Cambodia, Ghana, Jamaica, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Panama and Zimbabwe

Related news

29.06.2020 NL law
European Banking Federation Guidance on testing of Cloud Exit Strategy

Short Reads - Financial institutions may outsource critical or important functions to cloud service providers (“CSPs”). On 25 February 2019 the European Banking Authority (“EBA”) provided guidelines (the “EBA Guidelines”) laying out the framework for outsourcing arrangements. The EBA Guidelines require institutions to have a comprehensive, documented and sufficiently tested exit strategy (including a mandatory exit plan) when they outsource critical or important functions.

Read more

23.06.2020 NL law
Eerste Kamer neemt wetsvoorstel UBO-register aan

Short Reads - Vandaag (23 juni 2020) heeft de Eerste Kamer het wetsvoorstel tot implementatie van het UBO-register aangenomen. Wij verwachten dat de wet nu spoedig in werking kan treden. Na inwerkingtreding van de wet moeten rechtspersonen zelf informatie over hun UBO’s verzamelen, bijhouden en registreren in het UBO-register. Bestaande rechtspersonen krijgen daarvoor 18 maanden de tijd. Nieuw op te richten rechtspersonen moeten hun UBO(‘s) echter al registreren wanneer zij zich voor het eerst aanmelden bij het handelsregister voor de registratie van hun onderneming.

Read more

29.06.2020 NL law
Nieuwe publicaties van het netwerk van centrale banken en toezichthouders

Short Reads - Het Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) benadrukt opnieuw het toenemende belang van klimaatverandering voor centrale banken en toezichthouders. Klimaatverandering leidt tot financiële risico’s en dat betekent dat centrale banken en toezichthouders klimaat- en milieugerelateerde risico’s in hun beleid en toezicht moeten integreren.

Read more

23.06.2020 NL law
Dutch Senate adopts UBO register bill

Short Reads - Today (23 June 2020), the Dutch Senate adopted the bill to implement the Dutch Ultimate Beneficial Owner (''UBO'') register (''UBO register''). We expect the Act to enter into force soon. After the Act entered into force, legal entities will have to collect, maintain and register information about their UBOs in the UBO register. Existing legal entities will be given 18 months to do so. However, newly established legal entities must immediately record their UBO(s) when they first register their business with the trade registry.

Read more

26.06.2020 EU law
E-book: 'Practical implications of ESG disclosure regulations'

Articles - As of 10 March 2021, many financial market participants and financial advisers will be subject to new disclosure obligations following the entry into force of the EU Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR) on 29 December 2019. The SFDR sets rules on transparency with a view to promoting both the integration of sustainability risks into investment processes and disclosures to investors.

Read more